Live Jazz on Wednesdays at The Sycamore

The Sycamore at Chatham Mills 480 Hillsboro Street, Pittsboro, NC

We are now open every Wednesday night and will feature live music each week from 6-9pm. Reservations highly recommended. See schedule below and check back for new bands to be added weekly! 10/5- Tony Galliani Jazz Quartet 10/12- Kris Whitenack trio 11/2- Oakboro 11/9- Dave Quick 11/16- Lauren Meehan Band 11/23- Kris Whitenack trio

Frances Mayes presents A PLACE IN THE WORLD at Flyleaf Books

Flyleaf Books 752 MLK Jr Blvd, Chapel Hill, NC

A lyrical and evocative collection of personal stories from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Under the Tuscan Sun, in which the queen of wanderlust reflects on the comforts of home. While Frances Mayes is known for her travels, she has always sought a sense of home wherever she goes. In this poetic testament to the power of place in our lives, Mayes reflects on "home," from the earliest imprint of four walls to the startling discoveries of feeling the strange ease of homes abroad, friends’ homes, and even momentary homes that spark desires for other lives. Her musings are all the more poignant after so many have spent their long pandemic months at home. From her travels across Italy—Tuscany, of course, to Venice and Capri—to the American South, France, and Mexico, Mayes examines the connective tissue among them through the homes she's inhabited. A Place in the World explores Mayes’s passion and obsessions with houses and the things that inhabit them—old books, rich food, beloved friends, transportive art. The indelible marks each refuge left on her and how each home influenced the next are the foundations of each chapter. Written in Mayes's signature intimate style, A Place in the World captures the adventure of moving on while seeking comfort in the cornerstone closest to all of us—home. Frances Mayes is the author of the now-classic Under the Tuscan Sun, which was a New York Times bestseller for more than two and a half years and became a Touchstone movie starring Diane Lane. Other international bestsellers include: Bella Tuscany, Every Day in Tuscany, A Year in the World. She is also the author of two novels, Swan and Women in Sunlight, three illustrated books, six books of poetry, and The Discovery of Poetry. Her books have been translated […]

Hang Your Shingle, Part 2

Central Carolina Community College 764 West St., Pittsboro, NC

In part two of this series, you will learn how to become a Licensed General Contractor, the certification process and the legal requirements necessary for becoming an LGC. Contact the Small Business Center at Central Carolina Community College.

Music at Mosaic: The Legacy Motown Revue

Mosaic Family Commons 60 Mosaic Blvd, Pittsboro, NC

MOSAIC at Chatham Park is hosting free concerts on every other Friday through the summer, except for July. Join us for free live music, food, fun and first looks! Event lawn opens: 6 pm start for this concert. Bring a lawn chair or blanket. Food, beer + wine available for purchase. Location: MOSAIC Family Commons (event lawn) near 51 Mosaic Blvd, Pittsboro, NC 27312

Merrell Shoe Sale at New Horizons West

New Horizons West 674 West Street, Pittsboro, NC

Stop by New Horizons West on Saturday, October 8, for great deals on great Merrell shoes!

Music at Mosaic: Popcorn Blue Band

Mosaic Family Commons 60 Mosaic Blvd, Pittsboro, NC

MOSAIC at Chatham Park is hosting free concerts on every other Friday through the summer, except for July. Join us for free live music, food, fun and first looks! This is a special concert for the Parade of Homes. Event lawn opens: 10 am - 2 pm. Bring a lawn chair or blanket. Food, beer + wine available for purchase. Location: MOSAIC Family Commons (event lawn) near 51 Mosaic Blvd, Pittsboro, NC 27312

Fall Festival at Huckleberry Trail Farm

Huckleberry Trail Farm 143 Pleasant Hill Church Road, Siler City, NC

2022 FALL FESTIVAL This year our farm will be open to the public every weekend beginning Saturday, September 24 through Sunday, October 30. We will also be holding our Home Teacher Work Day/ Home Schooler Day Oct 14 (more information below). Our hours are: Saturdays 10 am to 6 pm Sundays 1 pm to 6 pm We suggest you plan on at least two and a half to three hours to experience all the farm has to offer. Last admission is always 1 hour before we close, last hayride is always 30 minutes before we close, so come early to enjoy all the fun!

Civil War Speaker at Chatham Historical Museum

Ernie Dollar, with the City of Raleigh Museum, has written a book about how the U. S. Civil War was experienced locally. He will speak at the Chatham Historical Museum.

Silas House presents LARK ASCENDING at Flyleaf Books

Flyleaf Books 752 MLK Jr Blvd, Chapel Hill, NC

A riveting story of survival and hope, set in the not-too-distant future, about a young man forced to flee the United States and seek refuge across the Atlantic. As fires devastate most of the United States, Lark and his family secure a place on a refugee boat headed to Ireland, the last country not yet overrun by extremists and rumored to be accepting American refugees. But Lark is the only one to survive the trip, and once ashore, he doesn’t find the safe haven he’d hoped for. As he runs for his life, Lark finds an abandoned dog who becomes his closest companion, and then a woman in search of her lost son. Together they form a makeshift family and attempt to reach Glendalough, a place they believe will offer protection. But can any community provide the safety that they seek? For readers of novels such as Station Eleven, The Dog Stars, and Migrations, Lark Ascending is a moving and unforgettable story of friendship, family, and healing. Silas House is the New York Times bestselling author of seven novels, one book of creative nonfiction, and three plays. His writing has appeared in the New York Times, the Atlantic, the Advocate, Time, Garden & Gun, and other publications. A former commentator for NPR's All Things Considered, House is the winner of the Nautilus Award, the Storylines Prize from the NAV/New York Public Library, an E. B. White Honor, and many other awards.

State of Chatham Event

Chatham County Agriculture & Conference Center 1192 US-64 BUS, Pittsboro, NC

MOSAIC and Chatham Park NC are proud to sponsor the Chatham Chamber of Commerce's State of Chatham event on Wed, Oct 12. Aaron Nelson, president of the The Chamber For a Greater Chapel Hill-Carrboro, will analyze the well-being of #ChathamNC, using the latest data. Registration is required.

Live Jazz on Wednesdays at The Sycamore

The Sycamore at Chatham Mills 480 Hillsboro Street, Pittsboro, NC

We are now open every Wednesday night and will feature live music each week from 6-9pm. Reservations highly recommended. See schedule below and check back for new bands to be added weekly! 10/12- Kris Whitenack trio 11/2- Oakboro 11/9- Dave Quick 11/16- Lauren Meehan Band 11/23- Kris Whitenack trio

Hang Your Shingle, Part 3

Central Carolina Community College 764 West St., Pittsboro, NC

In this third and final session, participants will be presented with the Chatham County Zoning and Permitting process and cover the insurance requirements for becoming an LGC. Insurance topics include Liability, Workers Compensation, General Risk and Bonding. Contact the Small Business Center at Central Carolina Community College.

Bal Masque at Pittsboro Gallery of Arts

Pittsboro Gallery of Arts 44-1 Hillsboro Street, Pittsboro, NC

Pittsboro Gallery of Arts presents Bal Masque': ART UNMASKED An art reception like no other! . Art Salon - Immerse yourself! . Hors d'oeurves, French cocktails, music and photo opportunities. . Masquerade attire optional, but encouraged. . Friday, October 14th, 5:30 - 8 PM .

Movies at Mosaic

Mosaic Family Commons 60 Mosaic Blvd, Pittsboro, NC

Each other Friday night (except July) we’ll feature a movie on the Phil Kohl MOSAIC Family Commons (event lawn). Food + beverage available for purchase. No outside alcohol can be brought inside the venue. Bring a lawn chair or blanket. Event lawn opens at 7 pm. Movies start at sundown. Oct 14 Raya and the Last Dragon Food + beverage by: BMC Brewing, Vintage Scoops Oct 28 Lightyear Food + beverage by: BMC Brewing, Vintage Scoops, NC

Fall Festival at Huckleberry Trail Farm

Huckleberry Trail Farm 143 Pleasant Hill Church Road, Siler City, NC

2022 FALL FESTIVAL This year our farm will be open to the public every weekend beginning Saturday, September 24 through Sunday, October 30. We will also be holding our Home Teacher Work Day/ Home Schooler Day Oct 14 (more information below). Our hours are: Saturdays 10 am to 6 pm Sundays 1 pm to 6 pm We suggest you plan on at least two and a half to three hours to experience all the farm has to offer. Last admission is always 1 hour before we close, last hayride is always 30 minutes before we close, so come early to enjoy all the fun!

Quiltmaker Cafe’s Pay-What-You-Can Community Feast

The Plant at Lorax Lane 220 Lorax Lane, Pittsboro

Join us on Sunday, October 16, at 5:00 pm for a Pay-What-You-Can Community Feast! Gather at The Plant under a fall sunset with friends new and old from the Chatham community. You'll enjoy amazing food, swap stories, and be a part of building beloved community. Plus, you'll get to practice the pay-what-you-can model — the core feature of The Quiltmaker Café, a new nonprofit, fast-casual restaurant coming to Pittsboro in Spring 2023. This event has been organized by a patchwork of incredible community partners, including: The Quiltmaker Café Abundance NC The Local Church Café Root Cellar Postal Fish Company Chatham Health Alliance Fair Game Beverage BMC Brewing Copeland Springs Farm Heart Song Farm Lilly Den Farm Carolina Cravings St. Bart's Community Lunch The Chatham Chuckwagon Communities In Schools of Chatham County ... and many more! Learn more and register at the link provided! All are welcome; all belong.

Beer Tasting at The Sycamore at Chatham Mills

The Sycamore at Chatham Mills 480 Hillsboro Street, Pittsboro, NC

Join us at our OctoBEER event as we celebrate and learn about all things beer! Thursday, October 20th at 6pm. Enjoy delicious food and taste 6 beers of different styles and origins. Learn the history of beer, from its use as a safe way to consume water, all the way to the microbrew environment we live in today. Also, take home a 6 pack- one of each beer tasted at the class! Featured Brews: • Foothills Torch Pilsner • Lonerider Shotgun Betty Hefeweisen • White Street Tangled Oaks Amber Ale • Southern Tier Brewing Creme Brulee Stout • Appalachian Mountain Brewing Mystic Dragon Cider • Hi-Wire Hi-Pitch Mosaic IPA Enjoyed alongside a family-style bites such as : • Housemade Spiced Bar Nuts • Pigs in a Blanket with Housemade Sausage and Beer Mustard • Duckfat Roasted Fingerlings with Beer Cheese and Bacon Jam • Bourbon Blondies $75 per person reserves your spot and the class is limited, so make sure to reserve early. Call The Sycamore at (919) 704-8731 or e-mail info@thesycamoreatchathammills.com to make your reservation. Note: The restaurant and lounge will be open exclusively for the OctoBEER event on 10/20

$75.00